In 1982 the Pennsylvania Capitol Preservation Committee was created by the General Assembly (Act 327). As an independent Commonwealth Committee, its purpose is implementing and directing programs to conserve and restore the Pennsylvania State Capitol and its contents — preserving and maintaining it for future generations.

Under the law, the Committee's fifteen members would include four appointees each from the House of Representatives and Senate (equal majority and minority); a member of the private sector appointed by the Chief Justice; the Secretary of the Department of General Services; the Executive Director of the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission; the Secretary of the State Art Commission; and three private citizens appointed by the governor, all of who serve gratis.

A state budget line item funds restoration projects and operating expenses.  The Capitol Restoration Trust Fund, replenished through private donations and sales of commemorative items; helps with the procuring of historic artifacts and maintaining existing collections of artistic works that are significant to the Pennsylvania Capitol Building.

Pennsylvania Capitol Preservation Committee Gifts & Collectibles